Vanik IAS - BEST IAS,OAS AND WBCS INSTITUTE OF EASTERN REGION facebook instagram linkedin chat twitter youtube

Join VANIK-IAS, Eastern Region best institute to prepare UPSC, OPSC and WBCS Examination. We have expert faculties from New Delhi. Join now, limited seats available.

IAS Exam


Though, the exam is popularly known as IAS exam, but officially it is called the UPSC Civil Services Exam (CSE).  Here’s a complete detail about UPSC exam scheme, which will help all the civil service aspirants who dream to become IAS officers, to face the exam with right approach and attitude, appropriate guidance, selection of relevant study materials, right focus, and exact preparation strategy.

The UPSC CSE consists of 3 stages and they are Preliminary Exam, Mains Exam, and Personality Test/Interview.

i. Paper – I (General Studies: duration – 2 hours; Marks – 200)

ii. Paper – II (Civil Services Aptitude Test duration – 2 hours; Marks – 200)


   i. The minimum qualifying marks for Paper II is 33 percent.

  ii. In both Paper I and Paper II for each wrong answer there is a negative marking of 1/3rd of the allotted marks of that question.


Those, who clear UPSC Mains exam with the prescribed cut offs will be called for personality test/interview round (the third and final round) by the commission which will be held only in the UPSC Bhawan in New Delhi.



The candidates who apply for the UPSC Civil Services examination should ensure that they meet all the eligibility criteria

The eligibility for UPSC exam is based on the following parameters:

  1. Nationality
  2. Age
  3. Education
  4. Number of attempt



emailEmail phonePhone whatsappWhatsApp facebookFacebook Messanger
message Message Us close